November Cross-Campus CGA Forum Series on A House Divided: How Do We Get The Political System We Want?

Nov 04
1:00pm
Nov 04 to 09 2019, 1:00pm - 1:00pm


Dr. Kara  Dillard
Email Organizer

Event Type

Forum

Issue Guides

A House Divided

Join us election week for a series of student-focused deliberations on “A House Divided: What Would We Have to Give Up to Get the Political System We Want?" We’ll be talking about how to fix our broken political system in three different options: (1) Reduce dangerous, toxic talk: The problem is that the way we talk is poisoning public life. The “outrage industry” rewards people for saying and doing the most extreme things; (2) Make fairer rules for politics and follow them: The problem is that wealthy, powerful special interests game the political system, making it impossible to find compromise; (3) Take control and make decisions closer to home: The problem is that our most important decisions are being made too far away from home. Lets make more decisions at the local level and let states decide what’s important.

If you haven't had a chance to review the issue guide, you can find a downloadable PDF on the National Issues Forums Institute website: https://www.nifi.org/en/issue-guide/house-divided

Our aim with these forums is to give students a chance to deliberate with peers at campuses that are different from theirs – geographically, population size, and ideologically. We hope this allows students to hear voices they might not otherwise hear.

When you register, please use your university email address. To register, copy and paste the URL for the forum you want to join in your browser.
Monday November 4th @ 1p ET/10a PST: https://tinyurl.com/y5z94zvg
Tuesday November 5th @ 7p ET/4p PST: https://tinyurl.com/y3bgaqgj
Thursday November 7th @ 9a ET/6a PST: https://tinyurl.com/y6qvq8aq
Friday November 8th @ 3p ET/12p PST: https://tinyurl.com/yyl6e5h5
Saturday November 9th @ 7p ET/4p PST: https://tinyurl.com/y39g42t6

Supporting Materials

No supporting documents were uploaded by the moderator

Organizers