College Student "A House Divided" CGA for National Week of Conversation

Apr 08
10:00am
Apr 08 to 13 2019, 10:00am - 10:00am


Kara  Dillard
Email Organizer

Event Type

Forum

Issue Guides

A House Divided

Join us during the National Week of Conversation for a series of student-focused deliberations on “A House Divided: What Would We Have to Give Up to Get the Political System We Want?" We’ll be talking about how to fix our broken political system in three different options: (1) Reduce dangerous, toxic talk: The problem is that the way we talk is poisoning public life. The “outrage industry” rewards people for saying and doing the most extreme things; (2) Make fairer rules for politics and follow them: The problem is that wealthy, powerful special interests game the political system, making it impossible to find compromise; (3) Take control and make decisions closer to home: The problem is that our most important decisions are being made too far away from home. Lets make more decisions at the local level and let states decide what’s important.

If you haven't had a chance to review the issue guide, you can find a downloadable PDF on the National Issues Forums Institute website: https://www.nifi.org/en/issue-guide/house-divided

We will be using the Common Ground for Action (CGA) online deliberation platform. Details on the platform will follow once you register.

Our aim with these forums is to give students a chance to deliberate with peers at campuses that are different from theirs – geographically, population size, and ideologically. We hope this allows students to hear voices they might not otherwise hear.

When you register, please use your university email address.

DATES, TIMES AND REGISTRATION LINKS:

Monday April 8th @ 5p ET/2p PST: http://tinyurl.com/y2olrnlb

Tuesday April 9th @ 10a ET/7a PST: http://tinyurl.com/y4lqaeac

Thursday April 11th @ 7p ET/4p PST: http://tinyurl.com/yyreqmdq

Friday April 12th @ 12:30p ET/9:30a PST: http://tinyurl.com/y6fxc6fb

Saturday April 13th @ 4p ET/1p PST: http://tinyurl.com/y5c3zelo

Supporting Materials

No supporting documents were uploaded by the moderator

Organizers