issue booksreportsabout forums
calendarnewsEducators
network contactsonline discussionNIF Store

women debating
network
neighborhood
Join Our Free
Email Mailing List



The National Issues Forums network participants include an array of civic, educational and professional groups, organizations, and individuals that promote nonpartisan public deliberation in communities across the country. Within this network are organizations and institutions that provide organized workshops to help people develop understanding and skills for the purpose of convening and moderating National Issues Forums.



NATIONAL LISTINGS The Center for Civic Life (CCL)

Nancy Kranich
Chair, CCL Center for Public Life Advisory Committee
Rutgers University
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
nancy.kranich@rutgers.edu
(732) 985-1599

Mary Ghikas
Staff Liaison, CLC Center for Public Life
Senior Associate Director Library Association
50 East Huron Street
Chicago, IL 60611
mghikas@ala.org
(800) 545-2433, x. 2518

ALABAMA

Chris McCauley
David Mathews Center for Civic Life
P.O. Box 6
Montevallo, AL 35115
(205) 665-9005
cmccauley@mathewscenter.org
info@mathewscenter.org
http://mathewscenter.org

ALASKA

Bill Hall
Let's Talk Alaska/Alaska Common Ground
arlothall@gmail.com
(907) 748-3216

ARIZONA

Alberto Olivas
Director
Center for Civic Participation
Maricopa Community Colleges
Tempe, AZ
(480) 731-8156
www.maricopa.edu/civic
alberto.olivas@domail.maricopa.edu

Lori Poloni-Staudinger
Arizona Deliberates
Northern Arizona University
P.O. Box 15036
Flagstaff, AZ 86011-5036
(928) 523-6546
lmp75@nau.edu
www.arizonadeliberates.org

Andrea Houchard
Philosophy On The Public Interest
Northern Arizona University
P.O. Box 5064
Flagstaff, AZ 86011-5064
(928) 523-7153
andrea.houchard@nau.edu
www.nau.edu/ppi

ARKANSAS

Christina Standerfer, PhD
Associate Professor
University of Arkansas Clinton School of Public Service Sturgis Hall Room 104
1200 President Clinton Avenue
Little Rock, AR 72201
(501) 683-5215
ccstanderfer@clintonschool.uasys.edu
http://ualr.edu/iog/publiccollaboration

CALIFORNIA

Carole & Craig Paterson
California NIF Network
Fairfield, CA 94534
(707) 864-0419
capaterson@ucdavis.edu
craig_paterson@yahoo.com
www.delibcanet.org

Charles McClintock, PhD
Director, Institute for Social Innovation Professor, Human and Organizational Development Doctoral Program
Fielding Graduate University
2020 De La Vina Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93105

COLORADO

Paul Alexander
Regis University
Institute on the Common Good
Denver, CO 80221-1099
(303) 458-4336
palexand@regis.edu
http://www.icgregis.org

Martin Carcasson
Center for Public Deliberation
Eddy 210, Campus Delivery 1783
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523
(970) 491-5628
www.cpd.colostate.edu
mcarcas@colostate.edu

CONNECTICUT

Rebecca M. Townsend, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Communication, Manchester Community College
Great Path, MS #19, PO Box 1046
Manchester, CT 06045-1046
Office: Learning Resource Center A 212
Phone: (860) 512-2685
Fax: (860) 512-3201
RTownsend@ManchesterCC.edu
www.manchestercc.edu/engage/

Endia DeCordova, M.B.A.
Acting Associate Dean for Institutional Advancement
(860) 512-2902
EDeCordova@mcc.commnet.edu

Institute for Community Engagement and Outreach
Manchester Community College
Great Path, P.O. Box 1046
Manchester, CT 06045-1046

DELAWARE

Maria Pippidis
910 S. Chapel Street
Newark, DE 19716-1303
(302) 831-1239
pippidis@udel.edu

FLORIDA

Elizabeth Trentanelli
Professor, Political Science
Gulf Coast State College
5230 West US Hwy. 98
Social Sciences Building, 217
Panama City, FL 32401
(850) 769-1551 x2831
etrentanelli@gulfcoast.edu

Virginia York
Panama City, FL 32404
ggyork@comcast.net

Bill Ball
Dept Political Science
Stetson University
421 N. Woodland Blvd.
DeLand, FL 32723
(386) 822-7536
wball@stetson.edu

Joy Hazell
Sea Grant Extension
University of Florida
(239) 533-7518
hazellje@leegov.com

Eric M. Feldman, M.S.
Florida International University
11200 SW 8th St.
Miami, FL 33199
(305) 348-4145
efeldman@fiu.edu
www.goglobal.fiu.edu

GEORGIA

Jill R. Severn
Head of Access and Outreach
Richard B. Russell Library for
Political Research and Studies
Athens, GA
(706) 542-5766
jsevern@uga.edu
http://www.libs.uga.edu/russell/rfclg

Veronica Adams-Cooper, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Public Administration
Master of Public Administration Program
Lois B. Hollis Center for Public Deliberation and Participation
(Formerly the ESVHF-CPDE at ASU)
Albany State University
504 College Drive
Albany, GA 31705
(229) 420-1135
vacooper@asurams.edu www.asurams.edu

Melvina Turner King
Interim Executive Director, Leadership Center

Willie Rockward
Director, Center for Public Life in Ethical and Dynamic Discourse

Charles Moses
Collaborating and Co-Director, Clark Atlanta

Marionette Holmes
Collaborating Co-Director, Spelman College

Leadership Center at Morehouse College
The Center for Public Life in Ethical and Dynamic Discourse
830 Westview Dr. SW
Atlanta, GA 30314
(404) 614-8565
leaders@morehouse.edu
http://morehouse.edu/centers/leadershipcenter/index.html

Gregg Kaufman
Jan Clark
The Public Voice Partnership
Georgia College
Milledgeville, GA
(478) 445-1711
gregg.kaufman@gcsu.edu
jan.clark@gcsu.edu
http://www.gcsu.edu/adp/dialogue.htm

HAWAII

Dolores Foley
Dept. of Urban & Regional Planning
University of Hawaii
Honolulu, HI
(808) 956-2780
Dolores@hawaii.edu

ILLINOIS

Institute for Policy and Civic Engagement
University of Illinois at Chicago
www.ipce.uic.edu
www.civicsource.org

Joseph Hoerth, Director
Institute for Policy and Civic Engagement
College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs
1253 S. Halsted Street, Suite #310
Chicago, IL 60607
Phone: (312) 355-0096
Fax: (312) 355-0545
jhoereth@uic.edu

Norma Ramos
Director, Marketing/Communications
College of Urban Planning & Public Affairs
412 S. Peoria Street, Suite 400
Chicago, IL 60607-7067
Phone: (312) 355-0095
Fax: (312) 355-0545
neramos@uic.edu

Thea Crum
Economic Development Planner
Great Cities Institute
412 S. Peoria Street, Suite 400
Chicago, IL 60607
(312) 996-4617
tcrum3@uic.edu

Kim Casey
Director
Midwest Center for Civic Engagement
7424 S Normal
Chicago, IL 60621
(773) 723-5383
kcasey@ameritech.net

INDIANA

Lisa-Marie Napoli
Indiana University
Political and Civic Engagement Program — PACE
Community Deliberation Project
Ballantine Hall 132
1020 E Kirkwood Ave.
Bloomington, IN 47405-7103
(812) 856-1747
lnapoli@indiana.edu
http://pace.indiana.edu/cdp.shtml

Sara Drury
Democracy & Public Discourse
Wabash College
P.O. Box 352
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6393
drurys@wabash.edu
www.mccomunityconversations.com

Mike Wolf
Mike Downs Center for Indiana Politics
2101 E. Coliseum Blvd.
Fort Wayne, IN 46805
(260) 481-6898
wolfm@ipfw.edu

IOWA

Gerald Ott, Convener
Iowa Partners in Learning
4124 NE Hillcrest Ct.
Ankeny IA 50021
(515) 964-3903
gerald@butlerconsult.net

Cindy Swanson
Iowa State Education Association
777 Third St.
Des Moines, IA 50309-1301
(515) 471-8054
cindy.swanson@isea.org

KANSAS

David E. Procter, Director
Myles Alexander, Project Coordinator
Institute for Civic Discourse and Democracy
Kansas State University
202 Ahearn Field House
Manhattan, KS 66506
(785) 532-6868
dprocter@k-state.edu
mylesks@k-state.edu
www.k-state.edu/icdd

LOUSIANA

Tulane University

Amanda Buberger
Campus Community Partnerships
Center for Public Service
201D Alcee Fortier
6823 St. Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70118-5665
Phone: (504) 862-8058
Fax: (504) 862-8061
abuberg@tulane.edu

Julianna Padgett
Tulane University
School of Social Work
6823 St. Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70118-5665
(504) 862-3490
jpadget@tulane.edu

MARYLAND

Michelle Scott
Office of Equity & Diversity
Montgomery College
Rockville, MD
(240) 567-5276
michellet.scott@montgomerycollege.edu

Sharon Simson, Ph.D.
Center on Civic Literacy
3310G School of Public Health
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742
ssimson@umd.edu

MASSACHUSETTS

Madhawa "Mads" Palihapitiya
Associate Director
MA Office of Dispute Resolution & Public Collaboration (MODR)
Boston, MA
Tel: 617.287.4036 | Fax: 617.287.4049
E-mail: Madhawa.Palihapitiya@umb.edu
Website: www.modr.umb.edu and www.mass.gov/modr

MICHIGAN

Central Michigan University

Thomas Greitens
Associate Professor, Political Science
Anspach Hall, 301A
Mount Pleasant, MI 48859
(989) 774-3862
greit1t@cmich.edu

J. Cherie Strachan, Interim Director
Women & Gender Studies Program
Associate Professor, Political Science
247 Anspach Hall
Mount Pleasant, MI 48859
Phone: (989) 546-7438
Fax: (989) 774-1136
strac1jc@cmich.edu

Claire Layman
Public Policy Education Specialist
Michigan State University Extension
Greening Michigan Institute
East Lansing, MI
TXT/Cell: (517) 648-6446
Skype name: claire.layman1
laymancl@anr.msu.edu

John Burkhardt
School of Education
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
(734) 615-8882
jcbforum@umich.edu

MINNESOTA

Matthew Brandt
Minnesota Humanities Center
St. Paul, MN 55106
(651) 772-4248
matthew@minnesotahumanities.org
www.minnesotahumanities.org

Marla Kanengieter Wildeson
Department of Communication Studies
St. Cloud University
Riverview 103A
720 Fourth Avenue South
St. Cloud, MN 56301-4498
(320) 308-4981
mkanengieter@stcloudstate.edu

Elaine Eschenbacher, Associate Director
Thomas Morgan
Augsburg College, Center for Faith and Learning, Sabo Center for Citizenship and Learning
2211 Riverside Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55454
Elaine's Phone: (612) 330-1492
Thomas's Phone: (612) 330-1773
Elaine's Email: eschenba@augsburg.edu
Thomas' Email: morgan@augsburg.edu

Kara Lindaman
American Democracy Project's EPIC Center
Dept. of Political Science
175 W. Mark St.
Winona, MN 55987
(507) 457-5406
klindaman@winona.edu

MISSISSIPPI

Phil Hardwick
Coordinator of Capacity Development
Stennis Institute of Government
Mississippi State University
Mississippi State, MS
(601) 354-6011
phil.hardwick@msstate.edu
http://www.msgovt.org

MISSOURI

Jennifer Wilding
Director, KC Consensus
Kansas City, MO
(816) 531-5078
jenwilding@consensuskc.org
www.consensuskc.org

NEBRASKA

Charles Parker
111K Gardner Hall
Department of Business & Economics
Wayne State College
Wayne, NE
(402) 375-7036
chparke1@wsc.edu

NEVADA

The Nevada Forum Center

Dina Williamson-Erdag
League of Women Voters of Pahrump Valley
1020 East Wilson Road, Room #4
Pahrump, NV 89048
(775) 764-7425
nvforumcenter@aol.com
www.nvforumcenter.org

NEW HAMPHIRE

Joni Doherty
Director
The New England Center for Civic Life
Franklin Pierce University
320 Petrocelli Hall
40 University Drive
Rindge, NH 03461
(603) 899-1025
dohertyj@franklinpierce.edu
www.franklinpierce.edu/institutes/neccl/

NEW MEXICO

Paul Biderman
829 Allendale Street
Santa Fe, NM 87505
(505) 690-2247
biderman429@gmail.com

Amelia Murphy
Public Deliberation Center of New Mexico
1209 Highland Rd.
Roswell, NM 88201
Cell: (505) 514-7180
amelia.ar.murphy@gmail.com

NEW YORK

Michael D'Innocenzo
Department of History
Hofstra University
Hempstead, NY
(516) 463-5606
hismzd@hofstra.edu

Lisa Strahley, Doug Garnar, Scott Corley
SUNY Broome Community College Center for Civic Engagement
SUNY Broome Community College
PO Box 1017
Binghamton, NY 13902
Offices: Science Building, Room 104
(607) 778-5494 / 5094
strahleyla@sunybroome.edu or corleysa@sunybroome.edu

NORTH CAROLINA

Drs. Michael L. Menefee, Stephen Marson, Joanne Hessmiller
Thomas Family Center
University of North Carolina – Pembroke
P.O. Box 1510
Pembroke, NC 28372-1510
(910) 775-4210
michael.menefee@uncp.edu

OHIO

David S. Stein
Workforce Development and Education
The Ohio State University
305 W. 17th Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210
(614) 292-0988
stein.1@osu.edu

Sarah Woiteshek
Center for Civic Engagement
Miami University Hamilton
1601 University Blvd.
Hamilton, OH 45011
(513) 785-3015
woitesse@muohio.edu
www.ham.muohio.edu/cce

Center for Civic Life
Ashland University

Louise Fleming
Professor of Education
401 College Avenue
Ashland OH 44805
Phone: (419) 289-5347
Fax: (419) 207-4948
lfleming@ashland.edu

Judy White
1193 County Road 620
Ashland, OH 44805
(419) 962-4959
soaringhawks2@frontier.com

OKLAHOMA

Renee Daugherty
Oklahoma Partnership for Public Deliberation
Oklahoma State University
Stillwater, OK
(918) 995-2261
renee.daugherty@okstate.edu
www.OKdeliberates.org

OREGON

Center for Civic Participation at Portland Community College

Shirlee Geiger
Portland Community College
P.O. Box 19000
Portland, OR 97280
(971) 722-4659
sgeiger@pcc.edu

John Farnum
Department of Philosophy
Portland Community College, Sylvania Campus
12000 SW 49th Ave.
Portland, OR 97219
Office: (971) 722-4574
Cell: (503) 933-0611
Jfarnum@pcc.edu

Neal Naigus
Assistant to the College President
Portland Community College, CC 241
P.O. Box 19000
Portland, OR 97280
Phone: (971) 722-4122
Fax: (971) 722-4960
nnaigus@pcc.edu

PENNSYLVANIA

Harris J. Sokoloff
Center for School Study Councils at the Graduate School of Education
Graduate School of Education
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA
(215) 898-7371
harriss@gse.upenn.edu

PUERTO RICO

Alfredo Carrasquillo-Ramirez, Ramon E. Davison, Sonia Carmona-Garcia, & Maria Teresa Martinez
Instituto de Liderazgo, Empresarismo y Ciudadania, ILCE
Universidad del Sagrado Corazon, Calle Rosales
Esq. San Antonio
San Juan, PR 00914-0383
787-728-1515 Ext. 2600
scarmonag27@gmail.com
alfredocarrasquillo@gmail.com
www.sagrado.edu

SOUTH CAROLINA

Barbara Brown
Clemson University
Institute for Economic & Community Development
Laboratory for Deliberative Democracy
Clemson Extension Service
115 N Harvin St.
5th Floor Sumter, SC 29150 (803) 773-5561 babrwn@clemson.edu

SOUTH DAKOTA

South Dakota Public Policy Institute
South Dakota Issues Forums
Chiesman Center for Democracy
1641 Deadwood Avenue
Rapid City, SD 57702
(605) 341-4311

TEXAS

St. Edward's University
http://think.stedwards.edu/ethics/deliberative-forum

Jack Green Musselman
Center for Ethics and Leadership (CEL)
3001 South Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78704-6489
(512) 428-1026
jackgm@stedwards.edu

Vicki Totten
Coordinator of Human Services
3001 South Congress Avenue
Holy Cross Hall #312
Austin, TX 78704-6489
Phone: (512) 416-5889 Mail Box #1008
Fax: (512) 448-8767
vickit@stedwards.edu

Windy Lawrence
Associate Professor Communication
Dept. of Arts & Humanities
University of Houston-Downtown
Houston, TX
(713) 221-8472
lawrencew@uhd.edu

UTAH

Jeffrey Nielsen, Director
The Utah Center for Civic Friendship
Study of Ethics at Utah Valley University
635 S 670 E
Orem, UT 84097
(801) 358-9112
jnielsen@westminstercollege.edu

VIRGINIA

Bill Corbett
National Issues Forums of Northern Virginia
McLean, VA
BillCorbett@nifnva.org
www.nifnva.org

Larkin Dudley
Center for Public Administration & Policy
Virgnia Tech
104 Draper Road
Blacksburg, VA 24061-0520
Phone: (540) 231-5197
Fax: (540) 231-7067
dudleyl@vt.edu

Nancy Gansneder
Director
Academy for Civic Renewal
Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service
University of Virginia

USPS Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 400206
Charlottesville VA 22904-4206

Delivery Address:
2400 Old Ivy Road, Rm 220
Charlottesville, VA 22903

Land: (434) 982-4770
Mobile: (434) 242-0017
Nancy's Email: nancyg@virginia.edu
Academy for Civic Renewal's Email: civic@virginia.edu
coopercenter.org/civic

Todd Solomon
Betsy McBride
Hampton Roads Center for Civic Engagement
Address 5200 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk, VA 23508
(757) 667-8533
(757) 617-9253
tsolomon@hrcce.org
bmcbride@hrcce.org
www.hrcce.org

Lori Britt & Tim Ruebke
Campus Community Civic Collaborative
MSC 2106 James Madison University
Harrisonburg, VA 22807
(540) 568-5028
brittll@jmu.edu
www.jmu.edu/icad

WEST VIRGINIA

Betty Knighton
West Virginia Center for Civic Life
Charleston, WV
(800) 296-5038
knighton@wvciviclife.org
www.wvciviclife.org

WISCONSIN

Eric Giordano, Director
John Greenwood, Outreach Consultant
Wisconsin Institute for Public Policy and Service
UW Center for Civic Engagement
625 Stewart Avenue
Wausau, WI 54401
(715 )261-6368
info@wipps.org
www.wipps.org

Most documents require Adobe Acrobat Reader.   Click here to download it.
© Copyright 2000-2011 by the National Issues Forums Institute
Twitter Twitter Facebook Facebook RSS FEED RSS

100 Commons Road, Dayton, Ohio, 45459-2777 | 1-800-433-7834
NEW HAMPHIRE MASSACHUSETTS Utah Arkansas Alaska Montana Oklahoma Kansas Nebraska South Dakota Michigan Minnesota Iowa Missouri Illinois Indiana Ohio West Virgina New Yoek Pennsylvania Nevada Delaware Maryland Virginia Puerto Rico Florida South Carolina Georgia Alabama Texas Hawaii Arizona California Oregon Colorado MISSISSIPPI North Carolina New Mexico Wisconsin